Phi Alpha Theta

Alpha Theta Psi Chapter

A chapter of the national history honor society, Phi Alpha Theta, was established on the Agnes Scott College campus in May 1998 at the request of history majors.  The national organization was founded at the University of Arkansas in 1921, and since then it has grown to more than 850 chapters. The membership of Phi Alpha Theta is composed of students and faculty who have been elected to membership on the basis of excellence in the study and writing of history. It is highly democratic, however, in that any student of history may become a member simply by maintaining a high standard of work in her studies.

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society, which promotes the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning among historians in a variety of ways. It seeks to bring students and faculty together both intellectually and socially for mutual understanding and encouragement in their common interest in the study of history.

Agnes Scott’s Alpha Theta Psi chapter holds an induction ceremony and celebration for new members each fall semester. For more information about the society, please contact the chapter adviser, Dr. Yael Manes (