Recent Prize Winners


The Michael J. Brown Prize

The Michael J. Brown Prize was established in 1996 to honor Professor Michael J. Brown upon his retirement after 35 years of distinguished service in the Department of History. The award recognizes a History major who, in the opinion of the Department, has demonstrated outstanding skills in historical research, writing and reading; a depth and breadth of historical knowledge and an eagerness and ability to share this knowledge with others. Past recipients of the Brown Prize include:

2018   Allison Dupuis

2017  Jillian Speck

2016  Jane Snyder

2015  Cheryl Wollner

2014   Amelia Golcheski, Lu Hao, Larkin Taylor-Parker

2013   Dina Alvarado, Jessie Downs, Jenessa McElfresh, Yuan Yuan

2012   Catherine Varner

2011   Emily (Kate) Schrum

2010   Alice Ferron

The Inez Norton Edwards Prize

Thanks to an endowment fund established by the daughters of Inez Norton Edwards, Nancy Edwards '58 and Helen Propst '50, the History Department has been able to award funds to support collaborative research between History faculty and students.  Recent recipients include:

2018  Kristell Garcia Rodriguez

2017 Allison Dupuis, Zoe Golden, Kat Grether, Zoe Howard

2016  Rachel Guo, Stephani Townes, Qinyu Xu

2015  Hannah Goff

2014  Lindsey Garland, Amy Pipher, Cheryl Wollner

2013  Kerry Ayres-Smith, Amelia Golcheski,  Lois Hao , Ashley Lawrie, Alex Holliday, Larkin Taylor-Parker

2012  Nadina (Dina) Alvarado, Sara (Sally) Horne

2011  Yuan (Sunny) Yuan 

The Claire West Jones ’90 History Award

The Claire West Jones '90 History Award was established by Dan and Sidney West in 2007 in honor of their daughter. Awarded for the first time in 2012, this cash award is given annually to a History student for research and/or travel abroad or within the U.S. to support work for independent research, senior seminar, or a special summer program that involves historical study. 

2018  Nicolette Paglioni

2017  Huda Khwaja

2016  Huda Khwaja

2015  Juliette Zhu

2014   Cheryl Wollner

2013  Alex Holliday

2012  Yuan (Sunny) Yuan