This website uses cookies.  Find out more in our Privacy Policy.

Writers & Scholars Series

The English Department brings noted creative writers and literary scholars to campus to give readings and lectures for the campus community. Since 2010, we have called this series the Writers & Scholars Series, and we host several events each semester. Our Writers & Scholars Series emphasizes national and international diversity in its speakers and in its topics, while also showcasing the best of Atlanta’s numerous literary and scholarly communities. Speakers selected for the Writers & Scholars Series connect with all aspects of our literature and creative writing curricula and frequently hold cross-disciplinary interest.

The Writers & Scholars Series is pleased to announce its program for 2023-2024!

Fall 2023

  • Dionne Irving, from The Islands, 27 September
  • Chen Chen, in conjunction with the Georgia Poetry Circuit, 10 November

Spring 2024

  • CM Burroughs, in conjunction with the Georgia Poetry Circuit, 20 February
  • Patrick Rosal, in conjunction with the Georgia Poetry Circuit, 11 April

All events are free and open to the campus community and to the public. Unless otherwise announce, events are at 7:00 p.m in Luchsinger Lounge.  Please see the Campus Calendar for the latest information.

The Writers & Scholars Series is made possible by the Wendy Williams Speakers Fund, the Writers & Scholars Series Fund, and the Thomas G. Snow Fund, as well as by annual gifts from alumnae and campus community members.

Previous Writers & Scholars Series Speakers:

  • Jim Abbot, scholar
  • Haider Al-Kabi, essayist
  • Kazim Ali, poet and essayist
  • Lauren Alleyne, poet
  • Dorsey Armstrong, scholar
  • Brian Artese, scholar
  • Charlotte Artese, scholar
  • Deepika Bahri, scholar
  • Jericho Brown, poet
  • Stacey Brown, poet
  • Chesya Burke ’13, fiction writer and essayist
  • Anna Cabe '13
  • Terri Carrión, artist and founder of 100 Thousand Poets for Change
  • Victoria Chang, poet
  • Tiana Clark. poet
  • Amber Dermont, novelist
  • Jim Diedrick, scholar
  • Tenanarive Due, novelist
  • Camille Dungy, poet and memoirist
  • Amanda Gable, novelist
  • Alan Grostephan, novelist
  • Paul Guest, poet
  • Steve Guthrie, scholar
  • Shadab Zeest Hashmi, poet
  • Emily Lake Hansen, poet
  • Allison Hedge Coke, poet
  • John Hoppenthaler, poet
  • Mina Ivanova, scholar
  • T J Jarrett, poet
  • Ashley M. Jones, poet
  • Sheri Joseph, novelist
  • Kirsten Kaschock, poet and dancer
  • John Kessler, food columnist AJC
  • Sorayya Khan, novelist
  • Waqas Khwaja, poet, editor, and translator
  • David Kirby, poet
  • Michelle Latiolais, novelist
  • Robert Markley, scholar
  • Amy McDaniel, nonfiction writer
  • James May, poet
  • Robert Meyer-Lee, scholar
  • Jenny Molberg, poet
  • Kamilah Aisha Moon, poet
  • Tony Morris, poet
  • Scott Newstock, scholar
  • Hannah S. Palmer, essayist and memoirist
  • Chelsea Rathburn, poet
  • Janisse Ray, essayist and memoirist
  • Paisley Rekdal, poet
  • Bushra Rehman, poet
  • Cheryl Reid ‘95, novelist
  • LeeAnne Richardson, scholar
  • Michael Rothenberg, artist and founder of 100 Thousand Poets for Change
  • Deema K. Shehabi, poet
  • Vivian Shipley, poet
  • James Stamant, scholar
  • Nicole Stamant, scholar
  • Mecca Jamilah Sullivan, scholar and fiction writer
  • Courtney Faye Taylor, poet
  • Peggy Thompson, scholar
  • Rachel Trousdale, scholar
  • Dan Veach, poet and journal editor
  • Charles Harper Webb, poet
  • Tiphanie Yanique, novelist
Back to top