This website uses cookies.  Find out more in our Privacy Policy.

Public Health Advisory Council

The Public Health Advisory Council is a volunteer group through which distinguished health experts provide advice and support to strengthen Agnes Scott's public health department.  Members act as ambassadors for the college and its public health department by advocating the importance of educating Agnes Scott students to become aware of public health issues and to learn methods for improving public health. They advise the vice president for academic affairs and dean of the college and the public health faculty on the academic knowledge and skills that are in demand in the public health workplace; contacts and networks of interest to public health faculty, staff, and students; experiential learning opportunities; and fundraising strategies and opportunities for the public health department.

Council Members:

  • Colleen McBride, Chair, Behavioral Sciences/Health Education, Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University
  • Ebony Black ’14,
  • James W. Curran, Dean, Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University
  • Rosemarie Henson, Emory Global Health Institute, Chief of Staff, CHAMPS Network
  • Valerie Hepburn ’83, Senior Health Policy Consultant, University System of Georgia; President, College of Coastal Georgia*
  • Martha Katz, Health Policy Consultant; Chair of the Board, Georgia Health Foundation
  • Leandris Liburd, Associate Director, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Linda Kay McGowan ’65, Constituency Liaison, Office of the Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention*; Vice President for Programs, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Foundation*
  • Hillary Parton ’05, Division of Epidemiology, New York Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
  • Martha Rees, Professor Emerita of Anthropology, Agnes Scott College
  • David Ross, President and CEO, The Task Force for Global Health
  • Sally Thigpen ’99, Health Scientist, Research, Synthesis, and Applications Team, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Christopher Woods, Professor, Medicine and Global Health, Duke University
  • Amy Patterson, Chair of Public Health, Agnes Scott College, ex officio
  • Rachel A. Bowser, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College, ex officio
  • Leocadia I. Zak, President, Agnes Scott College, ex officio
Back to top