Merle Grubbs Walker Essay Prize

The Merle Walker Philosophy Prize was created in 1999 by Dr. Caroline Bynum. It is named for Professor Walker who taught philosophy at the college for 14 years. She exemplified the qualities of learning and intellectual vitality essential to any student of philosophy. Currently the prize of $500 is given for the best essay in philosophy written by a student in the current year, as judged by the department.

Previous Merle Walker Philosophy Prize Winners: 

2016 Tess Lewis, “Inference v. Preference: The Modified Fool’s Argument”
2015 no prize awarded
2014 Keely Lewis, “Abelard and the Problem of Universals”
2013 Osasha Fertal, “Perceptions of the Good: the Essential Role of Character Virtue in Acting Well”
2012 Keely (KJ) Lewis, “Love and Logic Keep us Clear: Reason, Desire, and Happiness in Symposium”
2011 Osasha Fertal, “Trope Theory as an Explanation of Resemblance and Kinds”