Scottie Safe Zone Committee

Safe Zone Banner

Agnes Scott's Safe Zone program seeks to promote an emotionally, as well as physically, safe environment for LGBTQIA (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning, Intersex, and Asexual) students, faculty, and staff. Through education, community resources, and ally training, we will promote understanding and support to students, faculty, and staff.

We recognize the diversity of sexual identity, gender identity and expression among our community members; by recognizing this diversity we make a commitment to providing an inclusive and supportive environment for all members of our campus community.

Safe Zone Logo

Faculty and staff who have completed Safe Zone training, using the education and resources provided, may designate themselves as allies for LGBTQIA students and colleagues. Safe Zone-certified employees are committed to providing our LGBTQIA community with non-judgmental assistance, acceptance, and respect.

The Safe Zone Committee, a subcommittee of the President’s Committee on Community Diversity, is chaired by Dr. Rafael Ocasio, Charles A. Dana Professor of Spanish, Faculty Fellow.

The college's values, as well as non-discrimination and harassment policies, clearly articulate the college's expectations that all community members will be treated fairly.


Campus training dates for Fall 2020 will be coming soon! If you would like a personalized Safe Zone training for your department, please click here


Gender Neutral Restrooms

Scottie Safe Zone Committee is proud to have spearheaded the expansion of gender neutral restrooms on campus. We now have 21 gender neutral restrooms on campus and have placed signage to indicate their proximity. 


The Gay Johnson McDougall Center for Diversity and Inclusion • 404-471-6118 •