Student Awards

The Division of Student Life provides opportunities for students to be recognized for their individual contributions to the co-curricular life at the college including leadership roles and their involvement on campus.  These awards are made possible by donations from alumnae. 

Elizabeth Jefferson Boyt Student Development Award

The Elizabeth Jefferson Boyt Student Development Award was established to honor Betsy Jefferson Boyt '62 to assist a student attending conferences or programs which will enhance leadership skills or specific competencies supportive of co-curricular involvement. 

Francis Radford Mauldin Student Leadership Award

The Frances Radford Mauldin Student Leadership Award was established by the class of 1943 to honor their classmate, Frances Radford Mauldin.  This award goes to students who are active in SGA and uphold Christian values. 

Margaret Shirley Spirit Award

The Margaret Shirley Spirit Award presented to a Woodruff Scholar (selected by her peers), is given in memory of Margaret Shirley ’81, a caring individual with a special love for Agnes Scott non-traditional students.  This award and recognition is given as a remembrance of her loving spirit.

Sara Wilson Glendinning Award

The Sara “Sally” Wilson Glendinning Journalism Award was established by Ann Glendinning ’68 as a memorial to her mother, an alumna from the class of 1933. The award is given to the junior or senior students who has shown the most outstanding effort and promise in journalistic endeavors while at Agnes Scott, and whose outlook on life embodies the independent and individualistic spirit of Sally Glendinning.  Preference is given to students considering graduate study or a career in journalism. 

SGA Leadership Award

The SGA Leadership Award goes to students, either newly enrolled or in their second year at Agnes Scott, who have exhibited outstanding leadership skills, worked to improve the overall quality of campus life, and have committed time and energy to student self-governance.  These students, selected by the president of the Student Government Association, will have their names inscribed on a plaque displayed in the Gue' Pardue Hudson Center for Student Engagement.

Shuronda H. Gardner Smith Deans’ Choice Award

The Shuronda H. Gardner Smith Deans’ Choice Award was established by Rashanna Kirkland Henderson ’98 and friends in memory of Dean Shuronda Smith, a beloved member of the Agnes Scott community from 1997 until 2003.  The award goes to a student who embodies Dean Smith’s spirit “an energetic force, friend, mentor and true leader” who led by example. She encouraged and guided young women to reach their full potential through diversity, service and community outreach.

Suzanne Goodman Elson Award

The Suzanne Goodman Elson Prize was established by Edward Elson in honor of his wife, a member of the Class of '59. The prize is for that undergraduate "student who best reflects, in the judgment of her peers, those qualities of kindness, decency, and integrity which, combined with an unusual intellectual curiosity on her part, would make the Agnes Scott experience even more meaningful for her fellow students."