Francisca P. Vanherle Maxwell

Francisca P. Vanherle Maxwell

Artist Affiliate, Voice

Contact Information

Phone: 404.697.2668

Office Hours: Wednesdays, by appointment only

Academic Degrees

B.M., Koninklijk Conservatorium, Brussels, Belgium (Vocal Arts)
M.M., Koninklijk Conservatorium, Brussels, Belgium (Vocal Arts)
M.M., Koninklijk Conservatorium, Brussels, Belgium (Music Pedagogy)
D.M.A., University of Texas (Voice Performance)

Teaching and Scholarly Interests

Francisca Vanherle Maxwell was born in Argentina but grew up in Belgium where she started her musical education at the age of 5. In 1997, she was granted a Fulbright Scholarship to continue her education at the University of Texas at Austin. She graduated with a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Voice Performance in 2002. Currently living in Atlanta, she teaches voice in her private studio and at Agnes Scott College.

Francisca also works as a freelance soloist in a versatile repertoire comprising all ages. She has been staged in lead roles of many operas and operettas, among which L’Incorronazione di Poppea, Rinaldo, Alcina, Die Fledermaus and Paganini. She equally portrays herself in oratorio and as a chamber music vocalist. She performs regularly in the Southwestern United States, and she is a member of the Atlanta based early music group Harmonie Universelle. Francisca has been featured several times on public radio in the program “The Atlanta Music Scene.” Her concert life has taken her all over Europe, Russia and the United States.

Her scholarly interests include Baroque Opera, specifically music written for Castrati; music by women composers of the 16th, 17th and 18th century; and vocal-instrumental ensemble and chamber music.

Professional Activities

Member of PhiloMelante, Belgium (
Member of Harmonie Universelle, Atlanta, GA

Major Career Accomplishments:
• 2008: “Black Wedding” (Louis Zachert, chant by Hildegard Von Bingen) - Machineries Of Joy
• 2001: “Rinaldo” (G.F. Handel) – Texas Early Music Project
• 2000: “Armida” (G.F. Handel) – Texas Early Music Project
• 1999: “Concerto delle Donne” (I & II) – ensemble Le Donne, Texas Early Music Project
• 1996: “Mathaeus Pipelaere” – Huelgas Ensemble, Sony Classics Vivarte SK 65258
• 1995 : “Utopia Triomphans” – Huelgas Ensemble, Sony Classics Vivarte SK 6626

Web Links