IRB Members

How Are IRB Members Selected?
Institutional Review Boards are required by federal regulations to have at least five members with varying backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities commonly conducted by those affiliated with the institution.

Attempts are made to constitute the IRB by choosing members with diverse backgrounds, as well as experience and expertise in research using human subjects, to safeguard the rights and welfare of research participants. In addition, members should possess the professional competence necessary to review specific research activities.

Current Members
Rachel Hall-Clifford, Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Public Health - Chair of IRB Committee
Corey Dunn, Director of Institutional Research
Jeff Vaughn, Community Member
Toby Emert, Associate Professor of Education
Madeline Zavodny, Professor of Economics
Nastacia Pereira, Wellness Fellow, Human Resources
Karla Umana, Class of 2016
Pamela Napier, ex-officio, Director of Sponsored Programs