Mosaic Awards Banquet

Mosaic Awards Logo

The Mosaic Awards Banquet (historically known as Unity Banquet) is an annual celebration where members of the Coalition of Student Multicultural Organizations (COSMO) recognize faculty and staff who represent the beautifully diverse and inclusive community of Agnes Scott College. 

In partnership with the Gay Johnson McDougall Center for Global Diversity and Inclusion, we also honor the outstanding leadership and commitment to academic excellence of historically underserved students who are graduating at the culmination of the academic year.

As we come together in celebration, we recognize that Agnes Scott is distinctive in our efforts to continue to diversify our faculty, staff, and students yet there is still much work to do. This celebration is about affirming and honoring those that have persisted and thrived despite the numerous obstacles that exist in the world.

Annual Awards Include:

The Karen Green Human Relations Award:

The Karen Green Human Relations Award is given annually at Agnes Scott's Mosaic Awards Banquet (historically known as Unity Banquet) to a recipient who exemplifies the following idea:"There are certain people in the life of an institution whose presence is transforming… who build(s) bridges and educate(s) all of us in how to live together in a more fulfilling way.” Karen Green graduated from Agnes Scott and became director of student activities and housing in 1986, became the advisor for multicultural affairs in 1994 and was named assistant dean of students in 1997, the same year she earned her Masters of Divinity from the Candler School of Theology at Emory. During Karen's time at Agnes Scott, her transformative presence built bridges amongst community members and empowered others to do the same as inclusive leaders.

The Edna Lowe Swift Trailblazer Award:

The Edna Lowe Swift Trailblazer Award is named for Agnes Scott College’s first African American graduate. Mrs. Swift graduated from the college in 1971. Since that time, her bold and determined actions were a significant driving force in enhancing the diversity and inclusive environment that Agnes Scott College continues to foster.  This award was created in honor of Edna’s trailblazing spirit, to honor the rich legacy of diversity and the contributions that underrepresented individuals have made to the Agnes Scott College community.

The Gay Johnson McDougall Award for Community Activism:

This award is named for Gay Johnson McDougall ’69x, ’H10, and honors her rich legacy of activism around global human rights. As a member of the United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination and the Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence at the Leitner Center for International Law and Justice at Fordham University School of Law, Gay Johnson McDougall is a continued advocate for social justice. This award may be given to a member of the Agnes Scott Community or a community-based organization that is doing activist and progressive work for social change in the larger metropolitan Atlanta community.

The Elizabeth Liz Gilliland Chandler Distinguished Alumni Award:

In celebration of the rich diversity and intersectional work of the Agnes Scott alum community, an alum will be honored annually for their professional/personal accomplishments and service contributions to Agnes Scott College in the areas of diversity, equity, and inclusion. The award honors the memory of Elizabeth “Liz” Gilliland Chandler; Liz was a bright and talented student at Agnes Scott College whose legacy is honored through the Chandler Fund for Diversity, which sponsors an array of diversity initiatives.  We celebrate Alumni who have made a significant and sustained contribution that fosters diversity and inclusion in their broader community and/or organization; recognizing and respecting the value of intersectional identities.

 2017 Awards Recipients:

The Karen Green Human Relations Award : Elizabeth Bagley
The Edna Lowe Swift Trailblazers Award: Tomiko Jenkins
The Gay Johnson McDougall Award for Community Activism: Patricia Scott
The Elizabeth "Liz" Gilliland Chandler Outstanding Alum Award: Simone Bell'03 and Angela Tonn'87