Diversity and Inclusion Climate Audit

Agnes Scott College prepares all of its students to lead in a global society. Our mission is to educate students to “think deeply, live honorably and engage the intellectual and social challenges of their times.” One of these challenges—on our campus and beyond—is nurturing a community where everyone feels included and experiences equitable treatment. We are prepared to address this challenge.


In 2014, the Agnes Scott leadership team used the strategic planning process as a framework to achieve our diversity and inclusion goals. The 2020 strategic plan, “Leading in a Global Society: Agnes Scott Reinvents the Liberal Arts for the 21st Century,” calls for the development of a Campus Climate Assessment for Diversity as one step toward these goals.

In 2016, the Gay Johnson McDougall Center for Global Diversity and Inclusion (hereafter “the Center”) was tasked with developing a multi-year study to complete the campus assessment and diversity audit.

The Center held campus-wide forums in 2017 and convened a diversity research team.

In spring 2018, the president of the college convened a Diversity and Inclusion Task Force made up of students, faculty, and staff from across the college, with a variety of roles and experiences, as listed below.  The Task Force was co-chaired by the Center faculty director and staff fellow to carry out the following charge:

  1. Review data collected to date, and identify any gaps
  2. Review and finalize a community diversity and inclusion survey
  3. Make recommendations for a Diversity Action Plan

The Task Force convened in fall 2018 and met weekly for the 2018-19 academic year. Additional campus-wide focus groups were held and the survey questions were finalized in December 2018.

The climate perception surveys for students, faculty, and staff were administered in January 2019.  Survey and other data were analyzed by Creative Research Solutions and college researchers in summer 2019.

In fall 2019, the co-chairs shared the final report with President Lee Zak and the President’s cabinet to develop next steps. The results were also shared with other offices to address any time-sensitive matters. 

In spring 2020, the final report was presented to the members of the Agnes Scott community  in separate forums with the Student Government Association, Faculty Senate and Staff Council.


To inform the work of the task force and develop the final report and recommendations, analysts and task force members used the results from the following:  a) the Diversity and Inclusion Survey, b) the Agnes Scott Student Satisfaction Survey, c) an environmental scan of buildings, physical spaces and the online environment, d) baseline report based on focus groups, and e) the EEO-Diversity Hiring Report.  (Student demographic information is available from the Agnes Scott College Office of Institutional Research).

The final report is available to members of the Agnes Scott community by emailing diversity@agnesscott.edu.

It is important to remember that qualitative data, such as that obtained in a community survey, indicates the perceptions of the participants. In addressing campus climate for diversity, we seek to understand and respond to perceptions, even when the findings are not reflected in more quantitative assessments.

Recommended Next Steps

Agnes Scott should ensure that appropriate recommendations are implemented and future needs are identified by establishing an Advisory Board of diverse stakeholders, and engaging in ongoing conversation about diversity and inclusion. 

We expect that the recommendations will be useful to further improve our campus and continue to ensure a more welcoming environment for everyone. 

Lastly, our recommendations are a starting point for conversations on what we are doing well, what changes are needed, and what we should consider when finalizing the next college strategic plan.


The Task Force on Diversity and Inclusion thanks the Agnes Scott community for participating in this study of campus climate.  

We thank V & L Research & Consulting, Inc., for facilitation of the focus groups, and Creative Research Solutions, LLC, for data analysis and reporting.

Task Force Membership

Co-Chair Amy Lovell, Professor of Astronomy, Faculty Director, Gay Johnson McDougall Center for Global Diversity & Inclusion
Co-Chair Machamma Quinichett, Director of SUMMIT Advisors and Associate Director of the Office of Academic Advising & Accessible Education, Staff Fellow of the Gay Johnson McDougall Center for Global Diversity & Inclusion
Mary Cain, Charles Loridans Associate Professor of History
Rosemary Davis, Associate Director of Athletics**
Tiffany Del Valle, Director of Diversity Programs**
James Diedrick, Professor of English
Shantelle Donelly ‘19, Co-Chair for COSMO
Corey Dunn, Director of Institutional Research
Marti Fessenden, Special Counsel to the President and Title IX Coordinator
Karen Gilbert, Associate Vice President for Human Resources
Elizabeth Henry, SUMMIT Advisor*
Henry Hope, Director of Public Safety
Hanna Lee Jackson, Director of Student Outreach and Education**
Regine Jackson, Kathy Ashe ‘68 and Lawrence Ashe Associate Professor of Sociology
Maryam Jernigan-Noesi, Assistant Professor of Psychology*
Sigal Kahn ’20, Co-Chair for COSMO
Madelyn Kent '18, Safe Zone Fellow
Anna Lachkaya, Senior Administrative Assistant to the Vice President for Enrollment**
Elaine Meyer-Lee, Associate VP for Global Learning and Leadership Development
Rafael Ocasio, Charles A. Dana Professor of Spanish, Faculty Fellow Gay Johnson McDougall Center
LaShandra Owens, Director of the Math and Science Resource Center
Janelle Peifer, Assistant Professor Psychology*
Yves-Rose Porcena, Vice President for Equity and Inclusion
Mathavi Strasburger, SUMMIT Advisor**
Sussy Vasquez, Manager of Facilities**
Marisol Zacarias, Employer and Student Relations Coordinator*

*A member of the Data Analysis Subcommittee

**A member whose service on the Task Force ended due to change in role

The Gay Johnson McDougall Center for Diversity and Inclusion • 404-471-6118 • diversity@agnesscott.edu