Skip to main content

Search Committee

Search Committee

A Presidential Search Committee has been appointed and will make a recommendation to the Board of Trustees, which will be appointing the ninth president of Agnes Scott College. Composed of trustees, faculty, staff, students and alumnae, the Presidential Search Committee is committed to fulfilling its critical role in the search process and represents a variety of backgrounds as well as perspectives.

Inquiries for the Presidential Search Committee can be emailed to

About the Co-Chairs

Noe '86

Elizabeth Hardy Noe '86, Trustee

Elizabeth Hardy Noe ’86 is a partner and chair of the Global Corporate Department of Paul Hastings and based in the firm's Atlanta office. She has an active transactional practice concentrated in securities and corporate finance matters, mergers and acquisitions and corporate governance. A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Agnes Scott, Noe majored in English and political science. She earned her J.D. in 1989 from the University of Virginia School of Law, where she was a member of Order of the Coif. She is a graduate of Leadership Atlanta and a former member of the board of Atlanta Women’s Foundation.

Painter '75

Deborah "Deb" Harris Painter '75, Trustee

Deborah "Deb" Harris Painter ’75 retired in 2015, after a thirty-seven-year career with Norfolk Southern Corporation. Her tenure with Norfolk Southern included 29 years in the company’s operating department in Atlanta, followed by eight years as executive vice president planning and chief information officer in Norfolk, Virginia. Elected to Phi Beta Kappa, she graduated from Agnes Scott College with a B.A. in English literature. Painter received training in transportation management and executive education at Northwestern University, Duke University and Harvard Business School. Painter is a board director of CMS Energy, based in Jackson, Michigan, a trustee of the Chrysler Museum of Art and a commissioner of Norfolk Airport Authority.

Search Committee Members

Ronald E. Alston

  • Senior vice president, Not-for-Profit & Government Banking, SunTrust Bank, Atlanta, GA
  • B.B.A. in finance from Northeastern University
  • M.B.A. The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania

Christine S. Cozzens

Charles A. Dana Professor of English
  • Director of The Center for Writing and Speaking
  • Scholarly interests: 19th-century British literature, Irish and Scottish literature
  • Member of the executive board of the Southeastern Writing Center Association
  • B.A. & M.A. Stanford University; Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley

Emily Duncan '19

Junior from Williamsburg, VA
Duncan '19
  • Pursuing double major in business management and public health
  • Co-captain of soccer team
  • Hubert Scholar (internship in Kenya)

Douglas A. Fantz

Associate Professor of Chemistry
  • Co-director of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Program
  • Research focuses on the genetics and biochemistry of cell division using the model organism Caenorhabditis elegan
  • Past President of the Faculty
  • B.A. Furman University; Ph.D. University of South Carolina

Ann Glendinning '68

Trustee, past president of the Alumnae Association
Glendinning '68
  • Retired assistant superintendent for special student services, Cobb County School District
  • Trained mediator/consultant on special education program development issues
  • B.A. in psychology; M.Ed. and Ed.S. in emotional/behavior disorders; Ph.D. in special education administration, Georgia State University

Elizabeth "Beth" Holder '82

Chair, Board of Trustees
Holder '82
  • Active community volunteer with current and past board service including the Woodruff Arts Center, Atlanta Ballet, Camp Merrie-Woode Foundation, Georgia Center for Children and North Georgia Chapter of the March of Dimes
  • B.A. in economics from Agnes Scott College

Taylor James '19

Junior from Boston, MA
James '19
  • Pursuing double major in English literature and Africana studies
  • President of Judicial Board
  • Member of Tower Council, Joyful Noise, Agnes Scott’s chapter of the NAACP

Portia O. Morrison '66

Vice Chair, Board of Trustees
Morrison '66
  • Senior counsel at DLA Piper, Chicago, Illinois (retired)
  • Practiced commercial real estate development and finance law
  • B.A. Agnes Scott College; M.A. University of Wisconsin, Madison; J.D. University of Chicago.

Janelle Peifer

Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Research and applied work centers on college students’ intra- and inter-cultural competence development
  • Member, Faculty Strategic Planning Committee
  • Assessment lead for SUMMIT
  • B.A., Wake Forest University; Ph.D., University of Virginia

Stacey D. Robbins

Associate Registrar
  • More than 25 years of post-secondary education experience, mostly with Title IV Financial Aid
  • Previously served as Director of Financial Aid at Olive-Harvey College, one of the City Colleges of Chicago

Clyde C. Tuggle

Immediate Past Chair of the Board of Trustees
  • Retired Senior Vice President and Chief Public Affairs and Communications Officer, The Coca-Cola Company
  • B.A. in German studies and economics, Hamilton College; M.Div., Yale University
  • Studied at the Ludwig-Maximilian Universitåt in Munich, Germany
  • Immediate Past President of Rotary Club of Atlanta

Sussy B. Vasquez

Facilities Manager

  • Previous director of housekeeping, The Lovett School 
  • Former operations manager at McKibbon and assistant director of housekeeping at Omni Hotels
  • B.S. in Advertising, University of Florida 

Tawana Lee Ware '96

Trustee and past president of the Alumnae Association
Ware '96
  • Pediatric Dentist
  • Director of the Predoctoral Pediatric Dental Clinic and assistant professor at the Indiana University School of Dentistry
  • D.D.S., Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry; certificate in pediatric dentistry and M.S.D., Indiana University

Lea Ann Grimes Hudson '76

Search Coordinator
Hudson '76

Associate Vice President and Secretary of the Board of Trustees