Skip to main content

Announcing Search Committee

Announcing Presidential Search Committee

Monday, June 12, 2017

Dear Members of the Agnes Scott Community,

In follow up to my previous email, I write today to announce the members of the Presidential Search Committee, which under the leadership of co-chairs Deb Painter and Elizabeth Noe is charged with recommending Agnes Scott's ninth president to the Board of Trustees.

The following individuals have agreed to serve with me on the search committee:

Elizabeth H. Noe ’86, Trustee, Co-chair
Deborah Harris Painter ’75, Trustee, Co-chair
Ronald E. Alston, Trustee
Emily Duncan ’19
Douglas A. Fantz, Associate Professor of Chemistry
Ann Glendinning ’68, Trustee and a past president of the Alumnae Association
Taylor James ’19
Janelle Peifer, Assistant Professor of Psychology
Stacey D. Robbins, Associate Registrar
Clyde C. Tuggle, Immediate Past Chair of the Board of Trustees
Sussy B.Vasquez, Manager of Custodial Services
Tawana Lee Ware ’96, Trustee-elect and a past president of the Alumnae Association

Helping to coordinate the search from Agnes Scott is Lea Ann Hudson ’76, associate vice president and secretary of the board. The committee will be working with consultants from the executive search firm Witt/Kieffer.

I am most grateful to these members of the Agnes Scott community for their willingness to participate in the search process. I am confident that they will bring to this important task a variety of insights and perspectives reflecting their diverse experiences and backgrounds, along with a commitment to the college's core mission and future success. You will be hearing soon from Deb and Elizabeth about the next steps in the search process and ways that you can participate.  I remain certain Agnes Scott will attract a talented pool of candidates and the selection of our next president will only add to our positive momentum.

As I wrote earlier, the coming year will provide many opportunities for us to honor Elizabeth Kiss and express our appreciation to her and Jeff. At the same time, we will begin planning to ensure our new president receives a warm Agnes Scott welcome and a smooth passing of the baton. To coordinate these activities, I will be appointing a Transition Committee. I am delighted to announce today that Trustee Loucy Tittle Hay '87 has agreed to chair this committee. 

Once again I thank you for your support and welcome your comments and suggestions by email to


Elizabeth D. Holder ’82
Chair, Board of Trustees