Public Health Advisory Council

The Public Health Advisory Council is a volunteer organization through which distinguished health experts provide advice and support to strengthen Agnes Scott College’s Department of Public Health.  Members act as ambassadors for the college and its public health department by advocating the importance of educating Agnes Scott College students to become aware of public health issues and to learn methods for improving public health. They advise the vice president for academic affairs and dean of the college and the public health faculty on the academic knowledge and skills that are in demand in the public health workplace; contacts and networks of interest to public health faculty, staff, and students; experiential learning opportunities; and fundraising strategies and opportunities for the public health department.

Council Members:

Ebony Black '14,  Student, Emory University School of Nursing

James W. Curran, Dean, Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University

Rosemarie Henson, Emory Global Health Institute, Chief of Staff, CHAMPS Network

Valerie Hepburn '83, Senior Health Policy Consultant, University System of Georgia; President and CEO, Communities of Coastal Georgia (retired)

Martha Katz, Health Policy Consultant, Chair of the Board of Georgia Health Foundation

Leandris Liburd, Associate Director, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Colleen McBride, Council Chair, Behavioral Sciences/Health Education, Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University

Linda Kay McGowan '65, Constituency Liaison, Office of the Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (retired); Vice President for Programs, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Foundation (retired)

Hillary Parton ’05, Division of Epidemiology, New York Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

Martha Rees, Professor Emerita, Anthropology, Agnes Scott College

David Ross, President and CEO, The Task Force for Global Health

Sally Thigpen ’99, Health Scientist, Research, Synthesis, and Applications Team, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Christopher Woods, Professor, Medicine and Global Health, Duke University

Robiaun Charles, Vice President for College Advancement, ex officio

Christine Cozzens, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College, Professor of English, ex officio

Rachel Hall-Clifford, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Public Health, ex officio

Leocadia I. Zak, President, Agnes Scott College, ex officio