Agnes Scott Elects New Trustees

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Agnes Scott College elected three new members to its Board of Trustees during its spring meeting.

Portia Morrison, Jessica Owens and Susan Phillips become members of the board July 1. The new board members join 27 other members of the Agnes Scott board, chaired by Clyde C. Tuggle, senior vice president, global public affairs and communications of The Coca-Cola Company, and vice chaired by attorney Suzanne C. Feese.
Portia Morrison
Portia Owen Morrison, Agnes Scott class of 1966, is senior counsel at DLA Piper, practicing commercial real estate development and finance law in the firm’s Chicago office.

She has served as president of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers and has been a faculty member for ALI/ABA’s courses on Modern Real Estate Transactions and Real Estate Financing Documentation.

Morrison has been selected for membership in the Anglo-American Real Property Institute, an organization of the premier real estate lawyers in the U.S. and UK, limited to 50 members from each country. The Illinois Leading Lawyer Network has named her a Leading Lawyer in Illinois and has listed her among the state’s Top Ten Real Estate-Related Lawyers, Top 50 Leading Women Business Lawyers and Top 100 Lawyers (all practice areas). She has been designated an Illinois Super Lawyer and one of the state’s Top 50 Female Super Lawyers every year since 2005, when Super Lawyers began surveying Illinois attorneys.

In 2006, Morrison received the Girl Scouts’ Own Award, in recognition of her extraordinary service to the Girl Scouts of Chicago, including two terms as Chair of the Board. Morrison also serves on the Board of Directors of Young Women’s Leadership Charter School, the only all-girls’ school in Chicago Public Schools.

Owens, Agnes Scott class of 1998, works in Corporate Strategy and Business Development at Genomic Health, a cancer diagnostics company that enables patients and doctors to choose the most effective therapy to treat their disease.
Owens received an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School, an M.S. from the Department of Cancer Biology at Stanford University and a B.A. in biology from Agnes Scott.
Jessica Owens
Before joining Genomic Health in January, Owens was a partner in the Life Sciences Practice at Kleiner, Perkins, Caufield & Byers. She previously worked in R&D Project Finance for Genentect Inc., was an equity research analyst at Thomas Weisel Partners and was an investment banking analyst in biotechnology at Robertson Stephens.

She serves on the Cleveland Clinic Industrial Advisory Board and founded the Friends of the Joy Centre, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of vulnerable children and orphans in Otjiwarongo, Namibia. Owens is a member of the 12th Class of the Kauffman Fellows Program, an organization that develops emerging global leaders in venture capital and is dedicated to fostering entrepreneurship throughout society.

Phillips, Agnes Scott class of 1967, is dean and professor of finance at The George Washington University School of Business. She returns to Agnes Scott’s Board of Trustees after an absence of several years.

She was a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System from December 1991 through June 1998. Before her Federal Reserve appointment, Phillips served as vice president for finance and university services and professor of finance in The College of Business Administration at the University of Iowa. As chair of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission in the 1980s, Phillips was the first woman to chair a federal regulatory agency.
Susan M. Phillips
Phillips is a member of the State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company’s Board of Directors. She also serves on the boards of directors of the Kroger Company, the Chicago Board Options Exchange, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International, the National Futures Association and the Financial Accounting Foundation’s board of trustees.

She has won several awards for her research, including the Chicago Board Options Exchange Pomerance Prize for outstanding research in options in 1980, and has authored dozens of scholarly publications, including The SEC and the Public Interest, a book co-written with J. Richard Zecher. She contributes regularly to The International Economy.

Ann Glendinning, Agnes Scott class of 1968, will also be joining the board by virtue of her position as president of Agnes Scott’s Alumnae Association Board of Directors.

An administrator with the Cobb County School District, she was assistant superintendent for special student services at the time of her retirement in 2001. She has been on the part-time faculties of several colleges and universities and worked for The University of Georgia for three years on a grant with the Georgia Department of Education.

Glendinning served on the Atlanta Steering Committee during the college’s last comprehensive campaign and established two awards that are given annually to Agnes Scott students – the Sara Glendinning Journalism Prize (named for her mother Sara Wilson Glendinning ’33) and the John Hudson Prize in Special Education.

Three trustees will be leaving Agnes Scott’s Board of Trustees as their terms on the board expire June 30—L.L. Gellerstedt III, who will continue to serve as chair of the college’s Board of Visitors, Barbara Byrd Gaines ’77 and Mary Tyrena (Tina) Carr ’89.

Agnes Scott College educates women to think deeply, live honorably and engage the intellectual and social challenges of their times. Students are drawn to Agnes Scott by its excellent academic reputation, exceptional faculty and metropolitan Atlanta location—offering myriad social, cultural and experiential learning opportunities. This highly selective liberal arts college is known for its diverse and dynamic intellectual community. Through SUMMIT, it provides every student, regardless of major, with an individualized course of study and co-curricular experiences that develop leadership abilities and understanding of complex global dynamics.