Agnes Scott College Announces New Chair

Agnes Scott College Announces New Chair and Four New Members of its Board of Trustees

Wednesday, July 7, 2021

Decatur, GA, July 7, 2021—The Agnes Scott College Board of Trustees announces that Elizabeth H. Noe ’86 has succeeded Elizabeth (Beth) D. Holder ’82 as chairperson. Holder’s 13-year tenure on the Board of Trustees included serving the past five years as chair. Under her leadership, the board received the John W. Nason Award for Board Leadership, appointed Leocadia I. Zak as the college’s ninth president, navigated a global pandemic and, most recently, affirmed a new strategic plan that will provide direction for the college over the next five years.

Noe, a 1986 Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the college, has served on the Board of Trustees for seven years, during which time she chaired the Governance Committee and co-chaired the Presidential Search Committee. She recently retired as a partner with the international law firm Paul Hastings LLP where she served as the chair of the Global Corporate Department for 10 years. Noe led an active transactional legal practice concentrated in securities and corporate finance matters, mergers and acquisitions and corporate governance. A graduate of Leadership Atlanta, she served on the Atlanta Women’s Foundation board from 2008 to 2014 and is currently a member of the board of directors of the International Women’s Forum Georgia. Noe is also a member of the Board of Trustees of Lexington Realty Trust, a New York Stock Exchange traded industrial REIT. Included among Georgia’s Super Lawyers, Noe has been recognized as a leading lawyer for Corporate/M&A in Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business (2006-2019) and for M&A in The Legal 500 US (2012). She earned her J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law, where she was a member of Order of the Coif.

“I am honored to have been elected to succeed Beth Holder and look forward to working more closely with President Zak and the college’s leadership team to build greater awareness of Agnes Scott and the life-changing experience that it provides for our students through SUMMIT. I am deeply committed to the college’s mission and to empowering women for success,” said Noe.

The board welcomes new members whose four-year terms began July 1:

Lewis Galloway recently retired after 14 years as senior pastor of Second Presbyterian Church in Indianapolis and now serves as interim pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Spartanburg, S.C. Earlier, he served churches in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. He has been actively involved in racial reconciliation and campus ministries, social justice and homeless initiatives. He has served as president of the South Carolina Council of Churches and the Cooperative Ministry, as chair of the Mayor’s Task Force on Homelessness and as a trustee of Union Presbyterian Seminary and Davidson College. He is currently on the board of the Montreat Conference Center and is a graduate of Davidson College and Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, Va.

Parmeet Grover is the senior partner and managing director for Boston Consulting Group in Atlanta, where he works with Fortune 500 and governmental clients in North America, Europe and Asia on strategy, marketing and sales and operational transformation. Before joining Boston Consulting Group, Grover was an executive at Michelin, leading its global marketing strategy, and previously spent 11 years as a partner at McKinsey & Company. His commitment to bettering the Atlanta community has led to leadership roles in growing Tech Square, venture capital and other elements of the city’s entrepreneurial ecosystem. He serves on the Advisory Board at the Georgia Institute of Technology and as an Emeritus Advisory Board member for Georgia Tech’s School of Materials Science and Engineering. He holds an M.S. and PhD. in materials science and engineering from Georgia Tech.

Erica Stiff-Coopwood ’98 is an active community volunteer in Memphis, Tenn., where she recently completed her term as president of the Junior League of Memphis, the chapter’s first Black woman to serve in this role. Before relocating to Memphis, she practiced law in Nashville, Tenn., as an employment defense litigator with Constangy, Brooks and Smith, and then as a business attorney for Bone McAllester Norton, and also clerked for the Tennessee Supreme Court. She serves as a board member for The Children’s Foundation of Memphis and The Community Foundation of Greater Memphis and as a trustee of the Hutchison School for Girls. A graduate of Agnes Scott, Stiff-Coopwood served as president of the college’s Honor Court and earned a B.A. in psychology. She holds a J.D. and a business certificate from Vanderbilt University.

Mary-Crawford Taylor is head of industry consulting at Truist Bank. Taylor has held various sales, leadership and consulting roles in Commercial Banking, Corporate Banking and Investment Banking at SunTrust, now Truist, over the past two decades. She led strategy, products and capabilities for Not-for-Profit Banking and Government Banking and oversaw multiple efforts that enabled heritage SunTrust to meet clients’ evolving needs, optimize the bank’s balance sheet and achieve shareholder objectives. In addition, she led the formation of STI Institutional and Government, Inc. (STING), a bank subsidiary through which tax-exempt loans are processed. Previously, Taylor was a director at SunTrust Robinson Humphrey, advising clients in risk management. An active volunteer at Northside United Methodist Church and The Lovett School in Atlanta, she holds a B.A. from Vanderbilt University in economics with a concentration in business.

“I am looking forward to working with Elizabeth and these newly elected trustees as, together, we implement Pathway to Success, our new strategic plan, which focuses on providing a transformative education that prepares our students for professional success,” said Agnes Scott President Leocadia I. Zak.

Along with Holder, trustees ending active service on the board as of June 30 were Margaret D. McCray-Finke ’89 of Denver, Colo.; Mary Lou C. Hawkes ’65, Manchester by the Sea, Mass.; Elizabeth Rhett Jones ’73 of Atlanta; Elizabeth McGregor Simmons ’84 of Summerville, S.C.; and John R. Swallow of Kenosha, Wis.


About Agnes Scott College

Agnes Scott College educates women to think deeply, live honorably and engage the intellectual and social challenges of their times. Ranked No. 1 Most Innovative School, No. 1 First-Year Experience and No. 2 Best Undergraduate Teaching by U.S. News & World Report in its 2021 Best Colleges edition, Agnes Scott is a premier institution known for SUMMIT, its signature approach to a liberal arts education focusing on global learning and leadership development. Learn more at

Back to top