Skip to main content

Return for Fall Semester

Jun. 22, 2020

Dear Agnes Scott College Students, Faculty and Staff:

We trust this email finds you well and that you are enjoying summer, amid the global and national challenges we are facing. We are reaching out to provide you with information regarding the reopening of our campus. 

The campus will reopen for employees on July 6th. The fall semester will begin on August 20th and conclude instruction on November 24th. These plans are the result of the work of numerous groups consisting of students, staff and faculty who have been meeting and planning for the past few months. We thank the COVID-19, Instructional Planning, Campus Operations, Student Retention and Persistence task forces, Health Advisory Group, Student Advisory Group, SARRFA (Student Accounts, Registrar, Residence Life, and Financial Aid) and the president’s cabinet for their diligence and commitment to providing President Zak with the recommendations that informed these decisions.

Here is a preliminary calendar for your information: 

Thursday, August 20

 

Instruction begins

Monday, September 7

 

Labor Day holiday

Tuesday, October 6 and 

Wednesday, October 7

 

Fall break                          

Tuesday, November 24

 

Last day of classes

Wednesday, November 25-

Friday, November 27

 

Thanksgiving break

Monday, November 30-

Tuesday, December 1

 

Reading days

Wednesday, December 2-Saturday, December 5, and Monday, 

December 7

Final exams (remote)

 

President Zak will be providing a detailed return to campus messages in the coming days. The complete academic calendar will be posted on the college’s website next week.

We know that these changes have campus-wide implications, but also believe that they provide us with the best framework for adjusting to new ways of working and learning. The task forces will continue their work to collect and share information and guidelines throughout the summer. 

We thank you in advance for your flexibility and patience. Wishing you a peaceful and healthy summer!

Ken England and Karen Goff, Co-Chairs, The Presidential COVID-19 Task Force