At a Glance

Agnes Scott College, founded in 1889, is an independent national liberal arts college for women located in the metropolitan Atlanta area, affiliated with the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).

Student Body as of Fall 2017

  • 937 students
  • Our undergraduate students represent 46 states and territories and 34 countries; about 84 percent of traditional students live on campus.
  • Beginning with the class of 2019, all students participate in a global experience through SUMMIT.  Half of class of 2017 graduates studied abroad.

Agnes Scott’s Honor System is one of the oldest in the country; our student self-government is more than 100 years old. Historically and presently, Agnes Scott students have earned academia’s most prestigious scholarships including the Marshall, Rhodes, Fulbright, Goldwater, the Pickering Fellowship and the Gates Millennium Scholarship.

Admission and Financial Aid

  • Class of 2021 total enrollment: 251
  • 75 percent of the class of 2021 attended public schools.
  • Acceptance rate: 66 percent    
  • Mean High School GPA: 3.76
  • Middle 50 percent range of SAT: 1110-1270
  • Middle 50 percent range of ACT: 24-30
  • Two-thirds of incoming first-years qualify for and receive need-based financial aid.
  • In fall 2016, the average total institutional aid for all incoming first-years was $26,200.


The Scotties have six varsity teams (basketball, cross country, soccer, softball, tennis and volleyball) that play at the NCAA Division III level.

Our President

In 2006, Elizabeth Kiss (pronounced “quiche”) became the eighth president of Agnes Scott College. Kiss is the former Nannerl O. Keohane Director of the Kenan Institute for Ethics and an associate professor of the practice of political science and philosophy at Duke University. She was the first female Rhodes Scholar at her alma mater, Davidson College. She earned her B. Phil. and D. Phil. degrees in philosophy at Oxford University.  Learn more about President Kiss

Academic Programs

  • Number of full-time faculty: 78
  • Tenure-track faculty with Ph.D. or terminal degree: 100 percent  View our faculty directory
  • Student/faculty ratio: 10:1
  • Average number of students per class: 16
  • 34 undergraduate majors and 31 minors, as well as programs in pre-law and pre-medicine; dual-degree programs in computer science, engineering and nursing
  • Post-baccalaureate program in pre-medicine


  • Comprehensive fee for 2017-2018 is $51,930, which includes tuition, room and board and the student activity fee.
  • Agnes Scott's endowment is valued at more than $230 million as of June 30, 2017.
  • Annual budget:  $52.3 million


Agnes Scott sits on 100 acres shaded with some of the state’s oldest trees. Our hometown is Decatur, a city that lies six miles from the center of Atlanta. MARTA (Atlanta’s rapid transit) stops three blocks from campus.

The Collegiate Gothic and Victorian red brick-and-stone buildings have won national awards for design and resulted in Agnes Scott’s recognition for the second most-beautiful campus in the country by The Princeton Review's Best 361 Colleges (2006). Our campus consists of 30 buildings and an apartment complex.

Distinguished Alumnae

Marsha Norman ’69x, H’05, won the Pulitzer Prize for her play, "’night, Mother". She has adapted other works for Broadway plays, including the musicals, "The Color Purple" and "The Secret Garden", for which she received a Tony award. Norman is also a faculty member at The Julliard School.

Katherine “Kay” Krill ’77, H’12, has been president and CEO of ANN INC. (parent company of Ann Taylor and LOFT) since 2005. A psychology major, Krill joined the company in 1994 and was instrumental in the creation and launch of LOFT, one of the company’s most successful divisions. Krill became executive vice president of the LOFT division in 1996 and was promoted to president of that division in 2001.

Jean Toal ’65 is Chief Justice of the South Carolina Supreme Court, the first and only woman to hold that position. The first woman elected to the Supreme Court in South Carolina, she earlier served 13 years in the South Carolina House of Representatives. Toal is past president of the Conference of Chief Judges and past chair of the Board of Directors of the National Center for State Courts.

2007 Grammy Award winner Jennifer Nettles ’97 was a successful solo musician with folk and country roots before joining the band Sugarland in 2003. The group was nominated for a 2006 Grammy in the Best New Artist category. In 2005, the band won an American Music Award for Favorite New Artist. In 2006, Nettles again made the Billboard Top 100 for a duet with Jon Bon Jovi, the single “Who Says You Can’t Go Home?” The song won Nettles and Bon Jovi the Grammy for Best Country Collaboration.

Ila Burdette ’81, a mathematics major, was named Georgia’s first woman Rhodes Scholar in 1980. She later earned a master’s degree in English literature from Oxford University and her Master of Architecture from Princeton University. Burdette is now a practicing architect known for her work designing special-needs environments, such as hospices and homes for the elderly.