Zoom Security

Some of the reported security issues that have arisen are things that Zoom is addressing from a programming standpoint, while others we, as users, have more control over.  What we are seeing from various sources is that Zoom is acting very quickly to resolve the programming problems that are being uncovered.

 The one problem that users have the most control over is “Zoom-bombing.” Zoom-bombing is the occurrence of participants, invited or uninvited, joining a meeting and causing disruption by taking over screen sharing, annotating, making distracting noises or gestures on video or microphone.  A second problem is that Zoom meetings lack password protection. Joining one simply requires a standard Zoom URL, with an automatically generated nine-digit code at the end. A Zoom URL looks something like this: https://zoom.us/j/xxxxxxxxx

Things you can do

  1. Do not post your meeting URLs on a publicly accessible forum. We recommend only sending or posting meeting URLs through your ASC email and Canvas or Moodle pages.
  2. Familiarize yourself with all the controls so you can shut things down quickly if the need arises.

A announcement published by McGill is an additional, useful resource https://mcgill.ca/it/article/zoom-security-myth-vs-reality-remote-teaching.  Below are settings and features you could use to limit unwanted interruptions in your meetings:

Modify your Meeting Screen Share

When setting up a Meeting

  • Once in the Schedule a Meeting Screen
  • Click on “Settings” in the left-hand menu
  • Scroll down to “Screen sharing”
  • Under “Who can share?” click “Host Only”
  • Click on “Save”

During Scheduling choose the following options

When creating a meeting, Select Settings on the left of the screen

  • Disable the following options.
    • Join before Host
    • Remote Control Function
    • File Transfer
    • Annotations
    • Autosave feature for chats
    • Screen sharing (outlined above)
  • Mute participants upon entry.
  • Enable the Waiting Room feature so you can see who is attempting to join the meeting before allowing them access. (There is an “Admit All” option when you’re in the meeting.)

During your meeting:

  • Mute participants by clicking Mute All once you’re in the meeting and uncheck the box that allows them to unmute themselves.
  • Disable students’
    • video (in the Participants panel, mouse over their name, click “More” and disable video.)
    • ability to chat to each other privately (open the Chat box, click the three dots and see options to limit who the participants can chat with including “No One” and “Host Only”).
    • annotation (while sharing your screen, click the three dots that say More, select “Disable participant’s annotation” from the drop-down list.)
  • Put an attendee on hold, temporarily disconnecting their video and audio connections (click on participant’s video thumbnail and select Start Attendee On Hold, click Take Off Hold in the Participants list to bring the participant back.)
  • Remove a disruptive participant (in the Participants list, find the participant, click “More” over their name and select “Remove.”)

If anyone would like help reviewing their settings or practicing controls, they should feel free to reach out to the ITS Help Desk (itshelp@agnesscott.edu or 404-471-5487).  If you have other, specific concerns, please let us know or send us what you’re seeing so we can look into it.