Safe Zone

LGBTQIQ Safe Zone Committee

Agnes Scott’s Safe Zone program provides allies and resources for the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Questioning (LGBTQIQ) campus community. Safe Zone Logo

Faculty and staff who have completed Safe Zone training post a Safe Zone symbol in their offices, designating themselves as allies for LGBTQIQ students and colleagues. Safe Zone-certified employees are committed to providing our LGBTQIQ community with non-judgmental assistance and acceptance.

The Safe Zone Committee, a subcommittee of the President’s Committee on Community Diversity, comprises the following individuals:

  • Elliot McRae '15
  • Jasmyn McClelland, '14
  • Rafael Ocasio, Charles A. Dana Professor of Spanish
  • Kijua Sanders-McMurtry, Associate Dean of Students & Chief Diversity Officer
  • Ikeranda Smith, Interim Assistant Director of Campus Life and Intercultural Engagement

The absence of a Safe Zone symbol should not be interpreted in any way. The college's values, as well as nondiscrimination and harassment policies, clearly articulate the college's expectations that all community members will be treated fairly.

For More Information
We encourage you to contact at any time.