Email Delegation - full email access

Grant read, delete and send access to your Gmail account to someone

  1. Click Gear
  2. Select Settings
  3. Select Accounts off top menu
  4. In the Grant access to your account: section, select Add another account
  5. Type in the full email address of the person you are providing access to
  6. Click Next Step
  7. Click Send email to grant access
  • The individual(s) you have setup will receive an email message from you letting them know you have given them access to read, delete and send mail on your behalf. 
    • They will be required to Accept the request to activate the permissions. 
    • Once they have accepted the request, it can take up to 30 minutes for the verification to complete where they can view and send messages on your behalf. 
    • Access to your mailbox will appear

 

Accessing someone’s inbox after being given read, delete send access to their account

  1. Click your email address in the upper right corner and you should see the email address of the person who has given access to their inbox with the word (delegated) to the right. 
  2. Click their account to go to their email
  3. NOTE:  Please verify that you are on the correct account when managing email (read, delete, send) by looking in the upper right corner of your screen.  You can have your mailbox and the delegated mailbox open at the same time in different browser tabs.
  4. Any email’s you send from the delegated account account will
    1. appear in their SENT mail label.
    2. Have <delegated-account-name@agnesscott.edu> (sent by your-name@agnesscott.edu) in the from address

 

Revoking read, delete, send access to your gmail account for someone

  1. Click Gear
  2. Select Settings
  3. Select Accounts off top menu
  4. In the Grant access to your account: section, select delete