News and Events

2014 Alumnae Weekend English Department Reception
for Alumnae and Current Majors and Minors, and Friends
Friday, April 25, 2014
4:00-5:45 p.m.
McCain Library, Kate Durr Elmore Reading Room

We are looking forward to seeing you and to introducing you to some of our current students. In addition, at 4:45 p.m. we will have a very brief ceremony to honor the department’s 2014 award and prize winners and the new members of the English honor society, Sigma Tau Delta.

This is a perfect opportunity to talk with faculty and current students, hear about what’s going on in the English department and the college, and meet up with classmates from your college years. We promise you refreshments and great conversation.

We hope to see you on the 25th!

2013-14 Writers & Scholars Series

Next Event:

Writers & Scholars: Guthrie

 

Previous Events:

Kevin Young
Reading his poetry
Wednesday, January 29, 2014

 

Cynie Cory
Reading her poetry
Thursday, November 7, 2013

 

Sheri Joseph
Reading her fiction
Wednesday, October 16, 2013

 

LeeAnne Richardson
"To What Excell Compelled!": Sex, Gender, Poetry and Religion in Michael Field's "A Dance of Death"
Wednesday, September 11, 2013

 

Cailin Copan-Kelly '06
"The Grotesque Body Politic After Modernism"
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

 

Tananarive Due
Reading her fiction
Thursday, February 9, 2013

 

Sorayya Khan
Reading her fiction
Thursday, November 1, 2012

 

Jericho Brown
Reading his poetry
Thursday, October 18, 2012

 

Chelsea Rathburn
Reading her poetry
Wednesday, September 26, 2012

 

Brian Artese
"Testimony on Trial" from his new book, Testimony on Trial: Conrad, James, and the Contest for Modernism
Wednesday, September 12, 2012